Travel

Nürnberg, Germany


This trip to Nürnberg, Germany was spontaneous. I was supposed to visit my friends in Munich, Germany for Oktoberfest but when I arrived Munich, they invited me to join their 1 day excursion trip/ field trip to Nürnberg.. so I said yes.

Our first stop was at Reichsparteitagsgelände. It features the history of Adolf Hitler and the rise of the Nazis. The museum specifically focused on the role of Nürnberg during that time. I think the entrance fee for that was 5 Euros… not bad actually.

We ate lunch at Hauptmarkt square. The sausages sold on the streets looked good but since I was a Pescetarian ( eats seafood but not other animals) back then, I ate this raw pickled fish instead. At first I though it was really gross, but when I ate it, it was actually DELICIOUS! I MISS IT!!! 😦

Schöner Brunnen, which means beautiful fountain, is located at the market square. It is considered to be one of the main attractions of the city.

Frauenkirche (Church of our lady) is also located at the market square. Many pieces of art from the middle ages are kept inside the church such as Tucher Altar.

We toured the Kaiserburg Nürnberg or Nürnberg Castle. Wasn’t listening to the tour guide so I can’t really remember any significant event that happened there. BUT i have a really good excuse for not listening… hmm.. I was too busy taking pictures! heehee! the view from the top was mesmerizing okay? and it was my first time to see a castle from the middle ages so i was at awe.:> if you want more information about the castle you can visit this site http://www.scrapbookpages.com/Nurnberg/Nurnberg02.html

Nürnberg is not really the first city you’d plan to visit when you go to Germany, but if you have the time DO VISIT!

….then we took the train back to Munich at around 5pm for…. OKTOBERFEST!!! 😀

 

“Life is either a daring adventure or nothing”
Helen Keller

Leave a Reply

